a change of plans

21, June 2009

Well, all my big plans (see my last post) for last week got shot to hell on Tuesday morning when I got a call from Fremantlemedia asking if I’d come and help out running and driving on a web drama they are producing called Freak. As a result I didn’t get to my writer’s group to hear my sketch read and critiqued, I didn’t get to my networking night and I didn’t go to the theatre but you know what, I did get paid this week, which more than makes up for it.

I’d rather be working than not and despite not being what I usually do it has been a good week. It’s a small crew and they needed an extra person to be able to drive a van out to set every morning with camera, costume and unit gear, be an on-set runner and then drive the van back to the office again at the end of the day. The days have been long and there is always prep and post stuff to do at the top and tail of every day but everyone is working long hours on this gig so I can’t really complain.

The crew have been lovely and were very happy to have an extra pair of hands on board. This past week we were shooting all location stuff around East London and thanks to the third AD’s Tom Tom (GPS) I managed to get to and from every location okay. I was a little nervous at first driving around London (as I haven’t before) but it’s been alright. Most drivers are sensible, there are plenty of lights everywhere so you are always stopping and starting and traffic doesn’t move very fast when you’re driving through the city.

I’m working on Monday and then have to wait and see if they need me for the rest of the shoot. It’s been a good experience (you always learn something on every gig you do) and great opportunity to make some more contacts, which is a big bonus. I’d be more than happy to work the rest of the four odd weeks they have left but will have to wait and see what they decide. Fingers crossed.

add to del.icio.us : Digg it : Stumble It! : post to facebook

4 Responses to “a change of plans”

  1. Lesley Says:

    Congrats on the work – everything you do creates another opportunity; somewhere in your future a door just opened. Love to TJ and say hello to the rest of the family.

  2. Malcolm Says:

    Did you hear how your sketch did?
    -Malcolm

  3. Lorraine Says:

    Great News at least a bit of money. Yes, How did your sketch go?


  4. My sketch for the writer’s group didn’t get read because I wasn’t there to listen to the critique/feedback, so it will have to wait until next time. The sketch I submitted for Newsjack didn’t get selected but it’s all about consistency to get something on, not that I have time now. Thanks for the support guys.


Leave a Reply

