a life disassembled – part 2

2, March 2009

This is a follow up to my previous post, a life slowly disassembling, about my experience of seeing all my things slowly disappear as I prepared to leave Melbourne. You can also check out my post, the flight and the familiar but new, to read what happened on my 20 odd hour flight and my reaction to seeing my new home, London, for the first time.

Vodpod videos no longer available.

It’s strange and liberating at the same time to have your life reduced to two bags and a couple of boxes. It makes you realise just how much you don’t need.

That’s not to say I’m now going to adopt the gypsy lifestyle and roam the countryside with only what I can carry on my back. I like my stuff. I’ve spend the better part of eight years amassing it but I’m kinda happy living a sparse simple life at the moment. It makes you focus on what is really important … like a finding a job, somewhere to live and things to eat.

Check back with me in a couple of months though and I’m sure to be going stir crazy, ready to start the eight year process of amassing all new stuff again.

*** *** ***

In the meantime, here is where some of my old stuff has gone. As more photos roll in I’ll add them to this memorial post.

It’s surprising how easily something so familiar can look so at home in a new setting. Like it’s always belonged there.

Like my mortar and pestle.

Mortar and Pestle

And my whisk.

Whisk

*** *** ***

Some of my stuff has been split up every which way. My telly, foxtel box and entertainment unit ended up here.

TV & Entertainment Unit

While my DVD player went here.

DVD Player

And my DVD’s here.

DVD's

*** *** ***

It’s been good seeing my stuff already being enjoyed. Like my chopping block trolley.

chopping Block

The must sought after bean bag.

Bean BagAnd my nifty little computer desk.

Computer Desk

*** *** ***

A large portion my stuff went to charity, which is always a nice thing to do even if you’re not moving. I find every six months or so is a good time to do a clean out and a donation run to the local charity bin.

Squidgee and Donation Stuff

*** *** ***

One of my prized possessions was my bed, which now has a new home.

Bed

My partner, TJ, and I looked everywhere for a simple bed frame. It’s harder than you think. Eventually we found this one and even though it didn’t come in the colour we wanted we bought it anyway and gave it a quick sanding and a stain and bob’s your uncle we had the beautiful dark brown bed frame we always wanted.

Our mattress as well equally carefully chosen for it’s incredible comfort and support. You can never under estimate the value of a good mattress.

As our bed’s new owners can no doubt attest to.

Bed's new Owners

add to del.icio.us : Digg it : Stumble It! : post to facebook

2 Responses to “a life disassembled – part 2”

  1. themolk Says:

    Dude, you could have said “and the Mona Lisa used to hang here” and we would have believed you. 😉

    I also liked the metaphor for your bedroom by showing us nothing, as in blackness.

    I’m sure, in the end, while you didn’t take much, it’ll have seemed like a lot when you had to catch the Tube or something with it. Here’s to another 8 years of amassing… I hope I get the chance to help a little…

  2. Mon Says:

    the chopping board trolley is very enjoyable. i’m going to use it for dinner tonight. thanks:)


Leave a Reply

